Sioux North
High School
Sioux North High School
Third Ave, North
P.O. BOX 548
Sioux Lookout, ON
P8T 1A9
Phone: (807) 737-3500 Fax: (807) 737-1979
Deanna Pacheco, Principal
Andy Schardt, Vice-Principal
Help Stop

File a report now.


Apply today.


KPDSB Welcomes New Board of Trustees

16 Nov. 2022

November 16, 2022

On Tuesday, November 15, 2022, the KPDSB welcomed a new Board of Trustees.  We wish to congratulate Trustee Roger Griffiths who is the new Chair of the Board (was previously vice-chair of the board) and Trustee Dave Cornish who is Vice-Chair of the Board.  Both Trustee Griffiths and Trustee Cornish are in their third term of office as Trustees.  We are also pleased to welcome Denise Baxter to the position of Individual on the Board to Represent the Interests of Indigenous Students.

KPDSB Board of Trustees as of November 15, 2022

  • Roger Griffiths – Chair
  • Dave Cornish - Vice-Chair
  • Denise Baxter - Individual on the Board to Represent the Interests of Indigenous Students (new to the Board)
  • Marilyn Duncalfe
  • Robert Kitowski (new to the Board)
  • Gerald Kleist
  • Malcolm (Rory) McMillan (new to the Board)
  • Dave Penney (returning to the Board)
  • Steve Poling (new to the Board)
  • Dakota McDonald - Student Trustee
  • Gracie Tucker - Indigenous Student Trustee


KPDSB appoints Shawnda Norlock as Superintendent of Student Achievement and Equity

30 Nov. 2022

Media Release - November 30, 2022

The Keewatin-Patricia District School Board is pleased to announce the appointment of Shawnda Norlock as Superintendent of Student Achievement and Equity. 

Norlock started teaching with the KPDSB in 1999.  She has held various system responsibilities, including technology-enabled learning special assignment teacher, principal and vice-principal at Red Lake District High School and most recently central administrator in secondary program and achievement.  Norlock has led the student success and expanded and extended program portfolios system-wide.  She holds a BSc and BEd from the University of Manitoba and an MEd in Educational and Digital Technology from Ontario Tech University.

Norlock stated, "I am honoured to serve and support the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board in a senior leadership role.  I am proud to be part of this system, where we continue to put students first and provide innovative and equitable learning opportunities for all.  It is essential that students identify their strengths, see what they can achieve and what is possible, know that they can shape their lives, and know that we believe in them.  I look forward to continuing to learn and implement best practices and programs in our schools to advance student achievement and well-being and fostering creativity, innovation, and a culture of inclusion."

Christy Radbourne, Director of Education, added, "We are thrilled to add a skilled, experienced and lifelong KPDSB educator to our Senior Team.  Shawnda is a welcome addition who will bring a strong connection to KPDSB communities and an unwavering commitment to students, equity, and student achievement."


KPDSB and CUPE Local 1939 Reach Tentative Settlement

09 Jun. 2023

Media Release - June 9, 2023

The Keewatin-Patricia District School Board is pleased to advise that an agreement on local terms and conditions for the 2023 to 2026 Collective Agreement has been reached with the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 1939 (representing Caretaking and Trades/Maintenance Staff).

Details of the agreement remain confidential until ratification by the Local and the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board. 

Christy Radbourne, Director of Education, stated, “We are pleased to reach a positive outcome with our CUPE partners in education and look forward to continuing our productive relationship over the next four years.”


KPDSB students take 1st and 3rd place in Provincial Skills Competition

26 Apr. 2024

New Prospect School (Dryden) intermediate students Olivia McArthur and Emerson Dale placed 1st in the province with their Crane-a-saurus Rex design and model which carried a load of 200g through the load test in 1.89 seconds!

Golden Learning Centre (Balmertown) intermediate students Liam Chantigny, Jacob Ewen, Allie Russell and Sasha Cabile also placed in the provincial championship, taking 3rd!


This year KPDSB had more than 40 teams of students participate in the Regional Round of the Hydraulic Crane Competition. Three KPDSB teams placed in the top 3 in the Far North region and two of those teams placed in the top three in the province-wide championship round this week!

The skills in the Junk Drawer Races competitions are highly correlated with the Engineering and Design Process in the Ontario Science curriculum. Students use an approved materials list and scope to design, build, and adjust their projects to carry out a specific test. For the cranes, the test consisted of a timed load test where they had to lift, turn (both directions), and lower their cranes.

Photo of first place winners

Photo of third place winners


KPDSB Chair and Vice-Chair Acclaimed, Trustee Appointments Announced

13 Dec. 2017

Media Release - December 13, 2017

Trustees of the Keewatin-Patricia District School Board met at Dryden High School on Tuesday, December 12, 2017, for the inaugural board meeting.

The Board of Trustees acclaimed Trustee Dave Penney as Chair and Trustee Cecile Marcino as Vice-Chair.

The following Trustee appointments were made:

  • Trustee Barb Gauthier was appointed to the Executive Committee for the period of December 12, 2017 to April 13, 2018, and Trustee Dave Wilkinson was appointed to the Executive Committee for the period of April 23, 2018 to November 30, 2018. 
  • Trustees Barb Gauthier, Roger Griffiths and George Seaton were appointed to the Audit and Finance Committees for a one year term. 
  • Trustees Jennifer Kitowski and Gerald Kleist were appointed to the Indigenous Education Advisory Council (IEAC) for a one year term.  
  • Trustees Lesley Barnes and Dave Wilkinson were appointed to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC) for a one year term.  
  • Trustees Cecile Marcino and Barb Gauthier were appointed to the Early Years Advisory Committee (EYAC) for a one year term. 
  • Trustees Lesley Barnes and Michelle Guitard were appointed to the Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) for a one year term. 
  • Trustee Michelle Guitard was appointed to the Transportation Policy Committee for a one year term. 
  • Trustee Jennifer Kitowski was appointed to the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) Board of Directors.